The Truth About Shipyard Pumpkinhead

There is no denying that Fall is upon us, despite this week’s summer-esque weather we’ve been having the past few days. That’s just New England for ya. Fall is here. The NFL is in full swing, the NHL boys have hit the ice, and the shelves have been stocked with sweet, sweet seasonal brew.

Pumpkinhead

Now, let me preface this post by saying I have no issue with people expressing their pleasure with the Fall season on social media. I read a few articles bashing tweets and instagrams of Pumpkin Spiced Lattés and Cinnamon topped beer glasses. If the Fall makes you feel warm inside, as it does for me, then scream it from the mountaintops! In saying that, I have observed an unfortunate trend in this seasonal shift and I must call Bullshit.

I truly believe that no one actually enjoys Shipyard Pumpkinhead Ale. I like a nice pumpkin blend as much as the next guy. Pumpkin donut, sure. Pumpkin coffee or latté, okay. Pumpkin seeds, not so much but I digress. With fall comes pumpkin products. I get it. So, I understand the urge to grab a case of Shipyard the second it hits the stores in mid August. I even understand the choice in grabbing a Shipyard with a cinnamon brim at the bar during dinner.

The idea of a Shipyard has numbed the tastebuds of those who choose to drink them. I compare a Shipyard to throwing a pumpkin into a juicer, squeezing out some juice, mixing in some ginger ale and calling it a beer. Even a splash of vodka can’t mask the overbearing taste of pumpkin. Maybe one, or two non-consecutive beers is reasonable. But if you are buying a 12-pack and drinking them all night then you, my friend, are lying to yourself.

Maybe I am wrong, though. Maybe you like carbonated pumpkin juice. If you do, then do you. Maybe you read this and thought, “Wait a second, I actually can’t stand more than two, I fight the third down, then pawn the rest off to others who are also in denial.” If so, do not fret! There are plenty of other options out there, you just have to be willing to explore. Don’t be afraid to buy a random six-pack. If you don’t like it, take the $10 hit and put your bartering skills to use.

A few options:

1) Brooklyn Oktoberfest

3) Sierra Nevada Tumbler Autumn Brown Ale

2) Dogfish Head Punkin Ale

4) Blue Moon Seasonal: Harvest Moon

5) Angry Orchard Hard Cider

Just a final note, don’t buy a heavy seasonal beer if you plan on binge drinking. Brewmasters do not brew these high percentage, high calorie beers to be pounded before the bar. Wait until a Sunday Funday and sip slow.

2 thoughts on “The Truth About Shipyard Pumpkinhead

Let's Hear Your Thoughts

