My Fall Favorite: Brooklyn Oktoberfest

Screen Shot 2013-10-09 at 11.01.49 AM

My post about Shipyard Pumpkinhead got a lot of attention. I got a ton of feedback from people sharing their favorite fall beverages and requesting my favorite, since I had the audacity to tear Shipyard down from its pedestal.

Well, my favorite is the Brooklyn Oktoberfest. I love this beer. My buddy introduced it to me a few years ago and its been the staple of my fall preparations ever since. This 5.5% delight was back-to-back World Beer Championship Gold Medalist in 2010 and 2011. It’s brewed from Bavarian and Pilsner Malts to create a smooth, amber beer full of flavor. I’m no beer connoisseur  and don’t have a clue about the blending of malts and hops or any of that. What I do know is that whatever Brooklyn is doing to create this masterpiece is right on the money.

The taste is so smooth its hard to put your finger on exactly what flavors you’re experiencing. For me, there seems to be a slight hint of caramel mixed with some other cool flavors. The Oktoberfest is a far cry from the overwhelming burst of pumpkin flavor in Shipyard.

Another reason why the Oktoberfest is my favorite is because I enjoy the Brooklyn brand. The kid who first introduced me to it is from New York. He told me that the Brooklyn Brewery is the coolest place to go and the employees are all living legends. Apparently, there is a huge “communal Tasting Room” in the brewery filled with large wooden benches that resemble something out of Lords of the Ring. Since it is illegal to sell beer directly from the brewery to consumers, Brooklyn created a wooden token currency that visitors can purchase and use to buy beer. It’s open all day long on the weekend and everyone gets wrecked and has a great time. I support that kind of business, so I don’t mind paying $9 or $10 for a six pack.

I encourage you to give it a shot sometime this fall before they get taken off the shelves at the end of October. Sip Slow and Enjoy.

Let's Hear Your Thoughts

