Schnarped Hockey App Closes Huge Funding Deal On Canadian Version Of Shark Tank

This video is a combination of a ton of my interests: hockey, technology, entrepreneurship, and the girl in the red. Just kidding but seriously. In the video, two entrepreneurs go on a pitch/funding show called “Dragon’s Den,” the Canadian version of Shark Tank, to try and raise $100,000 for their hockey app, Schnarped.

I downloaded Schnarped last fall so I could track some of my friends that left BU early or graduated already and were playing in the pros. The App is awesome. It allows you to choose individual players from the NHL, AHL, ECHL, or CHL and track them throughout the season. I got to see how my buddies were doing at the next level, which was was easier than going to individual team websites to check stats. This was like a twitter timeline updating me on specific player stats for specific games. The app has come a long way since last fall. Schnarped now provides video highlights of goals and fights, better tracking stats, and a very user-friendly interface.

Now, Shark Tank is one of my favorite shows. I love hearing new ideas and watching the Sharks evaluate and offer or shit all over them. I get fired up when Mark Cuban throws a deal out there and watches the naive entrepreneurs squirm. Dragon’s Den is the exact same show. Maybe a little more staged, but still, real Business Angels offering real money to real entrepreneurs.

Schnarped co-founders Kyle Hagel and Dustin Sproat were looking for a $100,000 investment for 10% equity in their company. They ended up getting $250,000 total from all five Dragons for 33.3% stake in the company. They also got a mystery idea and a NBA contract guarantee.

He shoots, he scores!

Check out the app for sure and other articles about their journey.

 

